First-Time DUI Offense in Nevada
Traffic Law In Las Vegas
What to Expect After Your First DUI Offense in Nevada
In order to be charged with a DUI in Nevada, you must have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) above 0.08 or the prosecutor must show by other evidence that you could not safely drive the car. You can also be charged with a DUI if you have a detectable amount of a controlled substance in your blood above the legal limit. There are many consequences that you can expect if you are charged with a DUI in Nevada. A first-time DUI offense will typically be charged as a misdemeanor. However, if the crash results in substantial bodily injury or someone’s death, then you will be charged with a felony.
You can spend anywhere from 2 days to 6 months in jail for a first-time DUI offense. You will also have to pay a fine that ranges from $400 to $1,000. Additionally, you will be required to attend state-approved alcohol awareness programs.
What Happens to Your License?
Your license will be suspended for 185 days, either through a DMV administrative hearing or a conviction on the DUI charge. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be able to get a temporary license but that will include a breath interlock device on your car.
Why You Need Nobles & Yanez
The DUI laws in Nevada are complex and vary depending on the facts of you case. It is also important to note that if you are convicted of a DUI, then it can stay on your record at least 7 years for a first-time DUI. Prosecutors take these cases very seriously and will try to come down on you as hard as possible, even if it is your first time. This is why you need to hire Nobles & Yanez, experienced attorneys that will make sure your rights are protected and you get the best possible outcome.